It never fails to amaze me how prevalent the effects of things that I’ve studied in Sociology before are in college, especially. Mob mentality, the bandwagon effect, and so many other sociological phenomenons are seriously concentrated in this environment. I see it every day, and it gets old fast.

Lies are all of a sudden rumors, and then rumors destroy lives when they take over innocent kids. Then there are the ones that gain the tiniest bit of freedom when they become adults, and waste it doing drugs and living off of tax dollars. It’s sad to envision the futures of many of my classmates. I think this is definitely a skewed sample, given that this IS community college, and in a small town at that.

But you know what? I will be part of the 7% that makes something of themselves after COS. I won’t get married and have kids before I can legally have a glass of wine, and I won’t ditch class to get high. There’s a reason that people don’t make it past this far in their education. Granted, college isn’t meant for everyone, but in this day and age, degrees are important in pretty much every field except for fast food. In 10 years I will probably be getting served my meals by some of these people that think they’re cool now. And I’ll be the cool one, in my little red Audi. lol 🙂

It’s just comforting to know sometimes that these people, who are so quick to judge and accuse, will never amount to anything. And it’s also nice to know that five years from now, I won’t have to think about them at all, but they’ll remember me, because my name will be famous. Maybe. I can dream, right?

