There’s a few great excerpts from the book I’m reading by Jodi Picoult that really nail exactly how I feel about religion. I thought I’d share them.

“There was too much injustice in the world to buy into the belief that a merciful, all-powerful deity would continue to allow such atrocities to exist; and i downright detested the party line that there was some grand plan for humanity’s bumbling existence. It was like a parent watching children play with fire and thinking, ‘Well, let them burn. That’ll teach them.'”

“I don’t think religions are based on lies, but I don’t think they’re based on truths, either. I think they come about because of what people need at the time that they need them–believers need, by definition, something to believe in.”

And that is exactly how I feel.

