I think it’s interesting how these days people seem to confuse religion with politics. There’s a reason that we as a society have thrived when there is a separation of church and state. But somehow, Conservatives have to be Christians these days, and those “crazy Atheists” are Liberals. And of course, if you’re liberal you HAVE to be a Democrat, and blah blah blah blah. I do see how these groups got to be this way, and it makes sense that you would side with the group that upholds your beliefs, but making politics the new platform for “saving people” isn’t the answer.

I think that growing up with an interest in politics and current events is probably the reason that I struggled with religious choices for…well, my whole life, to be honest. That, and growing up in a family that gave me no choice but to be Christian. I went back and forth a lot after puberty. I knew that I had enjoyed growing up in a Christian household, but that I had never really shared the belief in God that everyone else did, and I certainly hadn’t had any encounters with divine intervention like the people I saw in church as a kid. I went through a slough of religious turmoil when certain events and funerals passed in high school, and I think that’s when I definitely slipped out of the religious circle, but I wasn’t certain about anything.

I think I made my decision when I started college and decided on a major in Evolutionary Biology. To be honest, I still haven’t even discussed many of these things with my parents, because I know they have faith, and won’t understand why I don’t. But for me, it’s simple. Science is truth. It’s tangible, it’s mathematical, and there is proof for every phenomenon. I’m not in the business of believing in things that I don’t have concrete proof for, and that won’t change anytime soon. I realize that this is a huge disappointment for many of the people that are close to me, but if they truly cared about me as a person, they would stop trying to save me and accept that I’ve made my choices just as they have. You don’t see me walking around, trying to convert Jesus freaks to atheism. The same courtesy would be appreciated.

