Question for Today:
If you could make one change to the world/society around you, what would it be?

I’m sure a lot of people would say eliminate world hunger and stop war and whatnot, but
A) world hunger is a reality that we created with our overpopulation, guys.
B) war forces progress. the reality of it also encourages social order.

My answer to this question is probably completely selfish, but I would want to get rid of the way that people judge each other, or change the way that we judge each other, at the very least. For a good portion of my life, I felt very isolated…and a lot of it is because of the way that we expect people to fit into certain social expectations. I’m not saying that I’m so completely different from everyone, and look at poor little me; I’m just too cool for you all. That’s totally not it.

I’m saying that it’s hard to find the place where you’re supposed to fit in, and this is true of myself. Growing up I had a lot of issues because I didn’t really feel comfortable in any particular spot. I found that my comfort came from staying isolated. I holed up in my room and read books, and I often did the same at school. I was social, of course, but it was never fulfilling. I think that’s mostly because I have a hard time feeling accepted, since I’m kind of an oddball. I get judged because I talk too much or because I seem nerdy or because I’m a plus sized girl, or whatever. The list goes on.

Now I’m in a place where I can be completely comfortable with myself, and people can either like me or not. However, I wasn’t always this way. It was much more difficult to not care what people thought when I was in high school. High school is terrible for too many people. It’s during the transition to adulthood, which is difficult enough in itself. Not to mention the classwork and teachers. Why throw in a bunch of catty bitches and social expectations?

Point being–stop judging people. They feel crappy enough on their own.
Other point being–thank god I’m in college and I can choose who to surround myself with.

